Font Size:


Q1. How can I tell from the coding if a Training Package has been redesigned?

Redesigned Training Packages do not have numbers at the end of the Training Package code. For example HLT07 became HLT when it was redesigned. CPC08 will be become CPC when it is redesigned.

Q2. What is happening to the version identifier (i.e. A, B, or C at the end of the unit code) in units of competency?

The alphabetical version identifier will be removed from CPC and CPP units of competency codes as the units are redesigned to comply with the Standards for Training Packages. TP users will need to check the Modification History within each unit for information on the releases of the unit. This can be done on

Q3. Will CPSISC keep the AQF level indicator in the unit of competency codes?

Yes, CPSISC will keep the AQF level indicator in unit codes. Some Industry Skills Councils have chosen not to use AQF level indicators in their units. This may cause some confusion when  importing units in to qualifications that specify that imported units must be at a specified AQF level.

Q4. How can a Training Package user determine the AQF level of a unit that does not have an AQF level indicator in the code?

The Training Package Implementation Guide may provide this information.

Q5. What has happened to units of competency and their assessment requirements?

In the Standards for Training Packages, there are units of competency and separate but related Assessment Requirements for each unit. The Assessment Requirements will contain sections covering Performance Evidence, Knowledge Evidence, Assessment Conditions and Links to the Training Package Implementation Guide.

Q6. Can a qualification contain a mix of ‘older style’ units and redesigned units?

Yes, and this may be the case until all units in training packages have been redesigned or developed according to the Standards for Training Packages.

Q7. How will CPSISC convey Foundation Skills in redesigned units?

Where foundation skills are required for the performance of a unit, CPSISC will use the Australian Core Skills Framework performance feature information to indicate the nature of the foundation skills demanded by the unit.

Q8. How does the Australian Core Skills Framework differ from the Core Skills for Work?

The Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) is a tool that describes and measures language, literacy and numeracy skills in the numerous contexts in which individuals work, learn and communicate. The ACSF underpins the quality management of Australian Government language, literacy and numeracy programs and is a key component of the infrastructure which exists to support and improve adult learning. The ACSF is recognised by all state and territory governments.

The ACSF provides a rich, detailed picture of real life performance in the five core skills of:

  • Learning
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Oral Communication
  • Numeracy.

The ACSF has been developed to facilitate a consistent national approach to the identification and development of the core skills in diverse personal, community, work, and education and training contexts. It offers:

  • shared concepts and language for identifying, describing and discussing core skills
  • a systematic approach to benchmarking, monitoring and reporting on core skills performance. (Source: DEEWR, Revised ACSF: 2012)

The Core Skills for Work Framework describes a set of non-technical skills, knowledge and understandings that underpin successful participation in work. Participation in work could be as an employee, as someone who is self-employed, or as a volunteer.

This set of non-technical skills, often referred to as generic or employability skills, contribute to work performance in combination with technical or discipline specific skills and core language, literacy and numeracy (LLN) skills.

The Framework describes performance in ten Skill Areas, grouped under three Skill Clusters:

Cluster 1 - Navigate the world of work

  • a. Manage career and work life
  • b. Work with roles, rights and protocols

Cluster 2 - Interact with othersa. Communicate for work

  • b. Connect and work with others
  • c. Recognise and utilise diverse perspectives

Cluster 3 - Get the work done

  • a. Plan and organise
  • b. Make decisions
  • c. Identify and solve problems
  • d. Create and innovate
  • e. Work in a digital world (Source: Ithaca Group, Draft ACSF: 2012)

Updated 28 March 2014.

Skills Centre

This is where you can access a wide range of resources for RTOs (trainers & assessors), employers and learners & job seekers.

View More

Training Packages

The User Guides will assist you to use and understand the CPSISC Training Packages and the industry-agreed qualifications, skill sets and units of competency it contains.

View More

E-Learning Web Portal

This portal brings together best practice, resources and information to ensure quality e-learning in our industries.

Launch Portal